top of page

Pro Baseball Insider: Former MLB Player Juan Pierre's simple tip for stealing 2nd base

If you have not heard about the website ProBaseballInsider.com run by current AAA Colorado Rockies player Doug Bernier, do yourself a favor and check their numerous pages of outstanding instruction from other pros in the game too!

Direct Credit: Pro Baseball Insider

A while back I got this question from a player.

"When stealing 2nd base, my first 3 steps are the hardest and slowest. I have very long legs and I feel like Im not moving as fast as I should. Ive watched a lot of video on Ricky Henderson and have tried to utilize the drop step technique. Any other ideas?"

- Dan

Immediately I could relate, because I'd had the same problem.

Fortunately, I was able to spend several off-seasons working out with an MLB veteran player who gave me some very simple, and very effective, advice.

I learned a lot from Juan Pierre (MLB's active leader in stolen bases), but the biggest thing he kept telling me was to stay low on my first few steps.

It is natural to raise your head up when you start running.

Fight to keep your head down and look at the ground as you take your first couple steps. Almost feel that there is a bar a few inches above your head when you are taking your lead, and as you take off you need to stay under that bar so you don’t hit your head.

When you come up a little when you start running you lose momentum going towards second base. Remember to stay low, keep your head down, and work on your starts (first 3-5 steps).

I was grateful when Dan wrote back to tell me if the tip had helped. In a nutshell, here's what he said:

"I can already see a noticeable difference in my speed. So simple to fix. Good luck with Minnesota (except when playing the Mud Hens or Tigers)" - Dan

So simple. So effective.

I hope this helps. Please feel free to write me any time and let me know what you're struggling with. Maybe I don't know the answer, but after playing professional baseball for 15 years, I know a lot of smart baseball guys who do.

Practice Hard - Rukket Sports

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Instagram App Icon
Follow Us
bottom of page